The Music That Changed Everything

Since everyone is probably going to be talking about what happened in Brussels today, I thought this might be a good time to step away from the violence and death that has been plaguing humanity lately and instead talk about something that brought me back to life. Let’s talk about Twenty Øne Pilots.

Last year, I was sitting on my couch listening to Spotify. The top hits playlist was full of the usual crap that sounds like I’m in a nightclub. You know what I mean, the techno/EDM/whatever else the kids call it these days. Because I don’t have a premium account, I was forced to suffer through a few songs without the option of skipping. After some horrible song finished, on came Stressed Out. This was my introduction to TØP. That song sucked me in. Something finally sounded different from all the cookie cutter music that I was hearing. I googled them and found out they are gorgeous. That led me to look up more of their songs (yes, I am that shallow).

I mean, how can you not love those faces?

I immediately went to YouTube on a hunt for more TØP songs. I was kind of thrilled that they had so much out there already and also kind of pissed that I had never heard of them before. How could a band like this go on for so long without me being aware of it? What if there are other equally awesome bands out there that I don’t know about?!  I was falling in love with song after song after song. Just when I thought I found a favorite, I would listen to one more and it would start all over again. I felt like finally someone understood. They understood the stress, the loneliness and everything else that comes along with mental illness. Every song sounded like it was written just for me.  From Ms Believer to March to The Sea to Addict With a Pen, every word of every song resonated with me. Tyler Joseph was able to put into words what I  have been feeling for what seems like a lifetime. That sounds so emo but it’s true.

I quickly gained an obsession with these guys. I Tumblr’d the shit out of both of them, followed them on Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat and everything else possible. If it didn’t have anything to do with TØP then I wasn’t interested. They gave me the strength to take risks with my anxiety and to push myself farther than I ever had. They convinced me to keep trying. If I felt like I couldn’t keep going for me, then I was going to keep going for them.  The song Friend, Please helped pull me out of self loathing and look at things from someone else’s point of view. Yes, life can suck, but don’t make it worse for everyone else by leaving.

I’ll be honest, I am having a hard time writing this because it is pretty hard to put into words the way this band makes me feel. It is almost indescribable. The way they pulled me from my bottomless pit and helped me feel inspired again. They make every day brighter. I don’t know how, but they do. I have transformed my room into a TØP shrine. I have two TØP shirts and one more on the way. I have their albums on vinyl (the ones that are available). I even managed to track down the ever elusive album, Regional at Best.

I’m just gunna leave this here.

I feel like this post has gone on forever and I still haven’t managed to get my point across. I guess what I’m trying to say is, these two people saved my soul (yes, I realize that I sound like a dramatic teenager).  Maybe I will be able to explain it better another time. I just wanted to throw some hope and positivity out there with all this doom and gloom.

 

Leave a Reply

