Vinyl

A few months ago, for some random reason, I decided I wanted to get into records. I think what spurred it was getting into Twenty One Pilots (yes, them again). I suddenly wanted everything they had which included two records, Blurryface and Vessel. Around that time I also won the newest Coldplay album on vinyl, so that helped.  I did some research and ended up buying a Crosley record player online. It had pretty good reviews and was a complete unit. It had built-in speakers and was basically a starter turntable. It got here the same day as my Coldplay album (which I was amazed to find was a double colored album). I plugged it in and threw on some Coldplay. Unfortunately, it sucked (the record player, not the album). Right out of the box the right speaker was crackling and cutting in and out. I was pretty bummed out and got mom to return it to the store I ordered online from. I went out a bit later and got a different one from Bed, Bath and Beyond of all places. It was an Innovative Technology turntable, which is the same brand as the tower speaker I have in the living room and that thing is awesome. The IT player had all the bells and whistles that I didn’t really need, bluetooth, speakers, played all three speeds and was able to be hooked up to external speakers. The speakers of that unit sucked too, they worked but they sucked. I bought some cheap computer speakers to hook it up to and that helped a bit.

2 - Copy
IT turntable playing Blurryface

I slowly started building my vinyl collection by buying albums from Amazon. Who knew they had vinyl? They actually have thousands of records, it’s pretty cool. I bought one from Urban Outfitters too. I can’t believe all the random places that sell records. I also found a record store about a 15 minute drive from me. They are a bit more expensive there but I don’t have to wait for shipping and I am extremely impatient, so that helps! Right now I have Vessel by Twenty One Pilots, Blurryface by Twenty One Pilots, A Head Full of Dreams by Coldplay, Hozier (self titled), Blue Neighbourhood by Troye Sivan and 25 by Adele. I am trying to keep the collection to things I actually want to listen to regularly and avoid filler albums. Some of the artwork on albums is so cool though, I almost want to buy them just for that. Good thing they are so expensive so I can’t afford to buy whatever I want!

2 - Copy.jpg
My very small collection

Yesterday, I got a new record player. This one is an Audio Technica AT-LP60. It doesn’t have built-in speakers but it sounds a lot better. It is fully automatic so I don’t have to move the needle around. It’s belt driven (I had to hook up the belt myself, felt very technical). It only plays two speeds but that’s okay because I really only buy 33s. It looks so much better than my old one, you can actually tell it’s a record player. Now I just feel fancy as fuck. So I sold my old one today and made some quick cash from it.

2 - Copy.jpg
New record player – AT-LP60

I’m really excited to keep building my album collection and to just chill out with a record on.

Leave a Reply

