Oh Shit

We haven’t had a car in about 10 years. That means we have been taking transit, cabs and borrowing family cars when we can. Not having a car is about twice as difficult for someone with anxiety and agoraphobia. Being unable to take transit means I have to cab everywhere. That means that I can only go so far. I’m not going to spend 80 bucks on a cab. Because of that, I have been pretty much been stuck within walking distance of home. Mom started a new job recently and it has been taking her 1.5 hours to get to work and another 1.5 (sometimes longer) to get home. I started sensing that we needed a car. I mentioned it to mom a few times and she always said she couldn’t afford it. Everyday she came home exhausted from the long bus and train ride to and from work, I felt bad for her. At this point, I work about three or four hours a day and I do it from my couch. I kind of felt like I needed to step up a bit.

A few days ago I started to do the math a bit on what it would take to actually get a car. I was surprised to find that it wasn’t as bad as I had thought. I researched Kias and had an idea of what I wanted. They make reliable, safe cars at a good price. I figured for the price of a Kia, I would just have to work maybe an extra hour or two a day. I think I can do that if it means freedom for me and an easier life for mom. We went to Kia on Saturday and it was a fucking zoo. They were having a sale that we were unaware of so pretty much everyone and their cousin was there. We were greeted as soon as we stepped on the lot. They’re like vultures! Our salesman’s name was Fender. He was named after his dad’s first guitar…pretty cool, I thought. He took us inside to show us a Rio. We weren’t really sure if we wanted a Rio or a Forte. After looking at the Rio, I liked the shape and I liked the interior. It felt small enough that I might be able to handle it, but not too small that it would be useless for transporting anything.

He pulled a Rio and we took it for a test drive. Mom drove it cause I don’t have a license. I don’t think I would want to drive it anyways…not fresh off the lot, lol. Mom was happy with the way it drove and I was happy with the way it looked and felt. We headed into the office to do the business end of the deal. Shit was getting serious now.

We ended up being at the dealership for 4.5 hours. Between going back and forth with the salesman, waiting for the finance people to be free, doing the insurance and then waiting for the finance lady again, it was pretty much an all afternoon affair. I had no idea it took that long to buy a car.

So anyways, I now have a 2016 Kia Rio EX that I can’t drive because I don’t have a license. I am trying not to freak out about the payments and the length of the term. It is a big responsibility and I feel like I have to actually be an adult now…Terrifying. Mom is taking me to take my L next week cause we both have the week off. I don’t think I will be able to take weeks off anymore now that I have this payment, hopefully I can still get some time off though! I just hope I can actually buy the thing, otherwise this is just a waste of a lot of money.

One thought on “Oh Shit

Leave a Reply

